Blog Hop

WORLD BLOG TOUR – THE WRITING PROCESS

Thanks to Valerie Noble, my good friend and author of The Energy Crusades, for nominating me to be on this blog hop.

 

So who the hell am I? Writer. Humanist. Jazz punk ideologist.  My science fiction romance, Tinsel Rose is currently out on submission via my amazing agent, Stacey Donaghy.

 

WHAT AM I CURRENTLY WORKING ON? A New Adult contemporary fantasy. The best way I can describe it is…what if Junot Diaz had written Harry Potter by way of Gabriel Garcia Marquez. If you experience any trepidation over that description it only proves that you are still sane. I cannot say the same for myself.

HOW DOES MY WORK DIFFER FROM OTHERS IN THE GENRE? When it comes to genres I am interested in how science fiction and fantasy can mirror our world and help us better understand it. So the usual genre banalities, the intense mythology, and all the myriad of details involved with world building I keep to a basic minimum. I always use K.I.S.S. (Keep it simple stupid.)

WHY DO I WRITE WHAT I WRITE?  I tend to write what I want to read. It’s that simple.

HOW DOES MY WRITING PROCESS WORK? I set a very rigid schedule. 300 words a day, one chapter a week, fifty chapters a novel. In precisely one year I’ve finished a first draft. Then I set a schedule to finish the second draft in 2-3 months. One chapter a day for fifty days. I take the weekends off to maintain my sanity.

Thanks for stopping by. Here are the links to three more writers who will discuss their projects and their process.

http://krkystenlindsay.com/

http://michelleroth.net/

http://noblevalerie.com/

Leave a Reply

