Thursdays Children

Thursday’s Children – Bend me, break me, anyway you need me.

thurschilbadgejpg

A weekly blog hop where writers come together to talk about whatever inspires them. Join us!

This week I’m uber, super, crazy, and other-words excited to see my favorite band, The Appleseed Cast this Saturday at the Delancey in New York City. Live music gets me going. There’s the energy you share with others in the room. The band plays and the music travels through the audience.  A few months ago I saw Bosnian Rainbows live and the show felt like a shot in the arm in my artistic slump. The lead singer, Terri Gender Bender, (Yes that’s her stage name) added performance art to the music. Her bending, contorting, crying, nose blowing, and spastic body movements reminded me why I love live music and how I adore the unpredictable.

tumblr_mat3jtpXq71ql8tcjo1_500

Why hello there

tumblr_mctt3nmuiq1rf9tglo6_500

Hello drum set.

The passion others put into their art inspires me to do the same. The more uncompromised the better. There is a misconception that people are enthralled by familiar things. Wrong. We are attracted to unique, crazy, and weird things that stand out.  Once you stand out is when we  find the familiar in you and wallah the audience is compelled. They are attracted to something  far removed from themselves. Are zombies, vampires, and girls with dragon tattoos something we can relate to? Nope. But when we realize that even girls with dragon tattoos have feelings too then we relate.

The struggle to fit a mold in order to sell is tempting. Hey look a  formula! A + B + C = published. Well yes and no. Mostly no. Sometimes yes.  I’m in a strange point in my journey to publication.  Nine years, four manuscripts, a million rejections, and I finally landed an agent. And yet this is only the start of another phase in the process. There are no guarantees.

As much as I put a happy face to it all.  (Just look at that killer smile folks!) I am often discouraged, troubled, and find doubt at every turn. I try and stay inspired. Live shows help. This Saturday will be a blast! If you’re in the area be sure to check them out.

http://www.songkick.com/concerts/16035134-appleseed-cast-at-delancey

https://www.facebook.com/TheAppleseedCast?fref=ts

A link to other Thursday’s Children writers is at the end of the post. 

Thanks to Rhiann Wynn Nolet and Kristina Perez for orchestrating this affair.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

11 thoughts on “Thursday’s Children – Bend me, break me, anyway you need me.

  1. Live music, dance, theatre are all pretty amazing. I think one of the things I like best about them is the risk-taking involved. The performers’ risk (effing something up unintentionally) and the audience risk (trusting another human being with your emotions, time, even money). And as for the “climbed that mountain, got my agent, oh damn, there’s another big mountain right in front of me” feeling – yup, can certainly relate 🙂

  2. Okay, this looks AMAZING! And I hear ya on the agent/publication front. What keeps me motivated/happy/enthusiastic and scared shitless is that someone (amazing agent) actually believes in me/my work and is doing all she can to get my book sold/help me grow as an author. Hang in there, congrats, and enjoy the show!

  3. Love the title of your post, Stephen. Garbage rocks. And I think people are intrigued by the unfamiliar, but there is also something to the familiar and relatable that I think readers, especially teen readers look for.

    Also, I want to crawl inside a kick drum now.

    Great post!

  4. I’m so jealous. There’s a serious lack of good live music in Hong Kong––other than karaoke or 80s bands you thought had broken up but obviously got back together for the money (I’m looking at you, Roxette). I grew up in NYC (Upper East baby) and the first concert I was allowed to go to without parental supervision was Garbage at the Beacon Theater. Every time I hear “I’m Only Happy When It Rains” it brings me back to the energy of that night and makes me happy, whether it’s raining or not 😉

  5. Congrats on landing an agent & I like your perspective here. First, stand out & then relate. The only thing is…sometimes it seems like we live in a world where everyone is trying to stand out. “Awkward” is the new cool and “weird” is the new preppy so everyone’s suddenly an awkward weirdo in an attempt to fit in. I think that’s why I just find honesty refreshing. Someone who’s not trying too hard to be anything except honest is a rare/beautiful thing & that’s precisely why I enjoy reading this blog. Once again, congrats on landing the agent : )

Leave a Reply

