Thursdays Children

Thursday’s Children – Weird, Wild, and Unusual.

thurschilbadgejpg

Take a  train ride into Manhattan in New York City and you’ll come across a barrage of the wild, weird, and unusual. Depending on the time and day you could be dealing with sleepy headed commuters or drunks on the verge of puking their guts out. Never a dull moment. From the ‘no pants subway ride’  to our wild array of parades this city celebrates the divine, the bizarre, and the strange.

You can’t shock a New Yorker. The other day on the D train,  a homeless man stunk up a packed train car. I’ll spare you the details but it smelled like he bathed in urine, put on urine cologne, and then dabbed on urine scented deodorant.  Everyone held their noses and prayed he’d exit at the next stop. I joined them but I also laughed. What a beautiful weird city I live in. You can’t make this shit up. I am disgusted and inspired.

My own take on these situations, that weird love/fascination/disgust inspires me in my writing. I fall in love with characters who take joy in the world around them, no matter how strange or bizarre. The unknown fascinates them. They love their world and so do I.
Thursday’s Children is a weekly blog hop where writers come together to talk about what inspires them. I’m participating today and you can too. 

A link to other Thursday’s Children writers is at the end of the post.


Thanks to Rhiann Wynn Nolet for orchestrating this affair.

 

Blogger/Wordpress.org code (if you have trouble with the code, it might be the quotation marks, try deleting and retyping them-I’ve been told my WP theme makes them wonky)

<!– start LinkyTools script –>
<script src=”http://www.linkytools.com/basic_linky_include.aspx?id=189596” type=”text/javascript”></script>
<!– end LinkyTools script –>
WordPress.com code
<!– start LinkyTools script –>
<p><b>Powered by Linky Tools</b></p><p><a href=”http://www.linkytools.com/wordpress_list.aspx?id=189596&type=basic“>Click here</a> to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…</p>
<!– end LinkyTools script –>

 

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

17 thoughts on “Thursday’s Children – Weird, Wild, and Unusual.

  1. I’m so glad you joined this week, I hope you’ll make it a habit 🙂 Ah yes, public transportation. When I lived in Boston I had all kinds of, uh, adventures. CrotchlessJeansGuy, RavingLunatics, FlirtyGuys…There was some kind of Murphy’s Law that the train stopped and the lights went out only when the scariest, smelliest, craziest people were on board.

  2. Oh that is awesome! NYC is definitely a different place. I was on a subway in Washington DC a couple years ago and there was an autistic man on there that was calling out all the stops and their travel times before the conductor did. Some people got frustrated, but he seemed harmless and was just keeping track of where he was. He also had a 2 liter bottle of Dr. Pepper with him. He would also randomly talk to other people. It was definitely different.

  3. I do flowers for wedding. One of the best ones I’ve ever done was in the city of Burlington Vermont. It was gay pride day with a rainbow parade which ended at the ferry docks where the wedding reception was happening on a boat. But it also was the day of an international fish derby and the fish weigh-in was on the same dock. This dock is also next to where the city’s homeless like to hang out.

    It was one of the most awesomely weird crowds I’ve ever been in the middle of.

    • They must have a secret they’re not telling New York City. Hong Kong looks amazing. I’d love to visit there one day.

  4. I *love* NYC. I’ve only been there twice, but some of my best memories are people watching on the subway. Also, I’m a bit of a “weirdo magnet” so that made things extra exciting. 😀 So glad you’re joining TC! 🙂

  5. It’s great to find inspiration not just in the wildness of the countryside but in the hustle bustle of the city too. Looking forward to reading more of your blog entries! 🙂

Leave a Reply

